The Satisfaction of a List

So I’m not really a list maker (to-do or otherwise) but when I saw this prompt I had to do it, so please forgive me if I ramble.

10 Best Books Ever Written (Or Books I’ll Make my Daughter Read to Keep Her from Becoming Bella Swan)

1. To Kill a Mockingbird– The relationship between Scout and her father Atticus is amazing and the kind of relationship I think every little girl should have with her father. The story of Tom Robinson’s trial is heroic and heartbreaking all at once and it is clear to see why Atticus Finch is considered one of the greatest heroes in literature.

2. Pride and Prejudice– Jane Austen’s most well-known novel is one of my favorites. Elizabeth Bennett, Austin’s feisty heroin, is someone I think any girl should aspire to be. She refused to conform to what society wanted and wouldn’t settle for the first man who proposed to her instead choosing to wait until she found love on her own terms.

3. Charlotte’s Web– This is the book that made me want to become a writer. My love for this book can be summed up in one quote; “Wilbur never forgot Charlotte. Although he loved her children and grandchildren dearly, none of the new spiders ever quite took her place in his heart. She was in a class by herself. It is not often that someone comes along who is a true friend and a good writer. Charlotte was both.” I have a deep fear of spiders but I put that all aside for Charlotte’s Web.

4. A Time to Kill– I will admit that even though I read this book in early high school I really gained a new appreciation for it when I read the John Grisham used “To Kill a Mockingbird” as his inspiration. In my mind I kind of believe that Grisham was seeking justice for Tom Robinson’s unfair verdict.

5. The Hunger Games Trilogy– I liked the character of Katness and the fact that she pushed herself to be so strong and to lead a revolution. The more personal reason for choosing this series is because I read it at a time when I was so depressed that it brought me back out of my shell.

6. A Light in the Attic– Really what can I say about Shel Silverstein? I have always loved his poems whether they’re happy or sad, and the illustrations make it 100 times more entertaining!

7. The Complete Works of William Shakespeare– They’re classic and eternal. A must read for anyone.

8. Atonement– An amazing story that shows the reader how a false accusation can change the course of an entire family.

9. The Great Gatsby– F. Scott. Fitzgerald captured the roaring 20’s so well with a story that is still relevant today.

10. The Yearling– a book both my grandmother and my mother made me read but by the end of it I was glad I’d read it. A must-read for anyone from Florida and after you read it you have to visit Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings’ home in Cross Creek, Florida.

And there you have it, some of the greatest books in my opinion. Feel free to comment and tell me some of your favorites.

Leave a Reply

