Getting Stuck in My Head….

We all have that one song that all it takes is a few bars and it’s in our heads for days, some of them are annoying (“Call Me Maybe…” anyone?) while some are old friends ( “Love is Blindness” by U2 wraps me in a comforting blanket).

I feel I should tell you that I am a professional when it comes to earworms (that’s what they’re called in case you didn’t know) because I was a competitive swimmer and my best event was the 500 meter freestyle (aka 20 laps of uninterrupted splashing pool water); so I would intentionally listen to music before I an event just to get it stuck in my head. Since I’d been swimming the 500 meter freestyle since freshman year I found some songs were more motivational (“We Will Rock You” by Queen comes to mind) and some songs were more calming (like “Any Colour You Like” by Pink Floyd) but they all helped to keep my mind occupied while I was swimming. 

I know everyone likes to focus on the annoying songs when they talk about earworms but I think that if you have the right song it can be like having a really friend in your head, and really where’s the downside in that?

2 thoughts on “Getting Stuck in My Head….

Leave a Reply

